Habs did not sign Brady Vail because….

Now former Montreal Canadiens draft pick Brady Vail told Jim Parker of the Windsor Star why he thinks the Habs did not sign him.

“I guess they wanted to see a little more improvement over the past three years,” Vail said. “I thought, personally, I had a pretty good season, so hopefully someone else sees that.”

According to Vail the Canadiens never really talked contract with the 20-year-old centre.

“After the injury in Hamilton, there was a little talk, but it was mostly about the injury,” Vail said. “I was waiting to talk contract and it didn’t happen.”

Vail admitted that even he thought there was a slight chance the Canadiens would sign him.

“When they signed two more forwards, I figured they didn’t have that many (spots) to begin with,” Vail said. “I took it as them saying they weren’t interested.”

Marc Bergevin did inform the Windsor Spitfires head coach and general manager that they would not be signing Brady Vail. Vail’s coach say’s there is a spot for him to return to the Spitfires if he does not get drafted or signed by next season.

Vail believes he is ready for the pro’s and will work towards getting a pro contract with another team.

“My goal is to play at the next level and I think I can do that,” Vail said. “Windsor’s obviously not completely out of picture, but my mindset is to play pro.”

Vail will re-enter this years draft as one of the best prospects out of a handful to be re-entering the draft after being let go by their original teams.

 

